A Different Friday

Friday is my “sleep-in” day but I only slept in a little because of course I had to get ready to teach again.

I think the class went pretty well. My students are learning that they have to pay attention to what I say if they want to understand what I’m asking of them.

Afterward I spent a little time on my exercise bike before heading out to Aldi while Walter and Janet were eating lunch. Jasper helped me put the food away when I returned home.

I didn’t get much done later in the afternoon due to our internet being very intermittent. Kind of frustrating.

Jasper has signed up for a men’s retreat this weekend, so this evening he went to the kick-off event, which was a potluck. Tomorrow he’ll be leaving early to make coffee for everyone at the church, as he is the acknowledged expert. I guess he’ll be there all day.

And Janet and Sammy went to our local rodeo after they both got off from work. A great way to spend Janet’s last evening in the USA. They had a good time but didn’t stay till the end as Janet had to finish packing and both of them need sleep. They plan to leave at 3:00 in the morning! So Sammy is sleeping on the couch. No point in driving all the way to Kilgore and then having to come get Janet in the morning. Needless to say, we said our goodbyes tonight. It sure has been great to have Janet here for a few days. And  I’m pretty envious of her flying to Africa tomorrow.

I finished a virtual challenge last night. I’ve got my year-long one, where I set a goal for the whole year, but sometimes it’s nice to have some more immediate gratification, so I signed up to walk the Wales Coast Path. This one has street views which has been great as I’ve been able to see many sweeping views of the ocean from my virtual location each day.

And this evening I also did something I’ve been meaning to do since January. I submitted my first query of the year. And then I started doing some serious research to see if I can identify some other likely agents to submit to. It’s a discouraging process, and very damaging to my confidence, but I’m still too stubborn to give up. I’m still convinced there’s an audience for my books out there somewhere.

Leave a comment