Panic Mode

So, I don’t think I’ve talked about this a lot, but Walter and I did sign up to go to Belize again this summer to help out at the Vo-Tech school. We both feel we have more to contribute there, so we went ahead and put down our deposit from the trip. This was back in January.

Since then, we have heard NOTHING about the trip.  We even asked the guy who is leading it for some information on Sunday, and he really didn’t have anything useful to tell us. Then this morning we received an email saying that if we still want to go, all our money has to be in by April 28—twelve days from now. Yikes!

We have not actively solicited support because we had no information and at times I at least questioned whether the trip was even still planned. We haven’t had a single meeting yet!  Now, suddenly we have to somehow come up with $1000 in twelve days. It seems impossible. I am trying not to freak out, because I know if it’s God’s will for us to go, the support will come in. And if only enough comes in for one person to go, I am happy for Walter to go without me—but we’d both rather go together. So if you’re a praying person, please pray that if this trip is what God wants, we’ll somehow be able to raise the money in time. Maybe it just isn’t meant to be this time.

Meanwhile, today was prep day for paragraph class. And a very frustrating day it was, too, thanks to continued printer problems. My printer will work for a few documents, but then it balks and the only thing that seems to work is shutting down and restarting both the printer and the computer, which is so time consuming.

Janet worked in her room all day and then left to go to Sammy’s church, after which she’s spending the night with a friend and former coworker here in town. I know they’ll have a great time. Her visit is speeding by. On Saturday she flies back to South Africa and to her husband, who I’m sure has missed her.

Jasper went to Walmart and bought two pairs of khaki pants, which he’s required to have for work starting Monday. He found exactly what he needed on a very good sale.

We had our church dinner tonight, which didn’t seem to be as well attended as usual. The barbequed chicken and ribs were very tasty.

And there has been more button drama! I have one more police shirt to do. After failing to deliver the buttons last week, Amazon said they were arriving today. I told Mary (the policeman’s wife) that the shirt would be ready tomorrow morning when she gets off work.

This morning I checked on the status and was told that the buttons were out for delivery. The mail hadn’t come by the time we left for church, so I checked again when we returned. We had mail, sure enough—but no buttons. I checked my inbox to discover an email saying that UPS had “tried” to deliver the buttons this evening but they “ran into an issue when attempting your delivery.”

My question is, what issue could they possibly have run into? Our yard is not guarded by a dragon or even a dachshund. There is no moat around our property. We were home, and the porch light was on. How on earth could they have failed to deliver an envelope with a few buttons in it?

Since I had promised to have the shirt ready by tomorrow, I went ahead and did the button and buttonhole using the same kind of button I used on the other two shirts. Which means that when and if those stupid buttons ever arrive, I will no longer need them. *sigh*

Parting Shot:

My April roses are in their full glory right now. This is our largest rose bush and it blooms like clockwork every April, and then to a lesser degree over the whole summer. But right now is the peak blooming season.

Leave a comment