My Diabetes Miracle #6: A Trip to the Doctor

So, I had a doctor’s appointment on Thursday last week. I hadn’t been to the doctor since I started on my plan to save my pancreas back in February. I thought she’d be thrilled that I had lost so much weight, gotten off insulin, and reduced my other meds.

Not so much. I think she was preoccupied with something else. She was glad I had made progress, but didn’t seem to think it was a big deal. It is a big deal to me!

I haven’t got the results of the blood work yet, but meanwhile my blood pressure meds were officially cut in half. I’ve been cutting the old pills in half (after having dizzy spells in the spring) and my blood pressure was great!

My Metformin prescription was also cut in half, which means that I might be able to cut those pills in half to continue my step-down program of eliminating meds.

I was not given a new prescription for Glyburide, which means when I run out I won’t get more. Instead of one pill a day, I now take half a pill once or twice a week.

I finally feel like I might have an indication that exercise lowers my fasting blood sugar numbers. My numbers had been creeping up over a period of several days when I was too busy to get to the gym—despite my fasting for most of those days. But then I started exercising again and my numbers fell just enough to get back where I want them. So, I guess I’ll keep doing that!

So, that’s how it’s going. Plugging away, still fasting a lot and eating only 4-6 meals a week. I don’t think I’ve lost any weight this month but of course I won’t know for a couple more weeks. The day-to-day grind of saving my life isn’t new and exciting anymore, but it’s just as vital.

3 thoughts on “My Diabetes Miracle #6: A Trip to the Doctor

  1. I am following your journey with vivid interest. And cheering you on! When I’m struggling with some food deprivation, I remind myself that you are fasting, for Pete’s sake. Thank you for sharing your story and for your courage in changing your life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

