Sewing and Writing

I figure I’d better post something tonight before my mother gets worried about me. This is kind of an intense time for me.

*I am still working on the cloak for Realm Makers, when not tied up with other stuff. Soon it will be all in one very voluminous piece. Every seam has to be stabilized with stabilizer. I went to the “fancy” fabric store yesterday to get more stabilizer, and they tried to tell me that I wouldn’t need it if I used smaller needles on my serger. They were wrong, a phenomenon that doesn’t happen often.

I know what you’re thinking. Cloaks are pretty simple. Normally they consist of four of five pieces, including the hood. So what’s taking so long? Well, having to pin stabilizer into each seam is one thing. And the body of this cloak consists of 15 pieces instead of four. *sigh* I have no one to blame but myself. It’s a design I’ve been wanting to try for a while. However, I think once will be enough!

*We have a house guest. Spencer’s friend Jayme is spending the weekend to celebrate his birthday, so no sewing got done last night. Instead I made pizza and iced a birthday cake. We are so glad Jayme was able to come.

*Today was the local writers’ conference I signed up for many weeks ago. This is the same conference at which I taught last year, and I was so impressed with this group that I wanted to attend as a student this year, especially since I can’t afford to go to either one of my favorite “big” conferences for the foreseeable future. It was a very enjoyable day. On the way home, just thinking and daydreaming about writing and all my stories, I had a lightbulb moment when I realized there is a common theme that runs through most of my stories. Huh.

So, I’m taking a break from sewing to dash off this blog entry and figure out what music I’m playing tomorrow. Don’t expect to hear much from me until Monday or even Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

