Girls’ Day Out

We had a quiet Independence Day, as we always do. The week during which the Fourth of July occurs is always a very, very busy week for Walter as he cleans floors for the daycare center. This is one of only two weeks in the year when the place is closed, so he has to work long days extracting carpets and refinishing the tile floors.

So, the most we can hope for is some grilled meat for supper and a few little fireworks in the backyard after dark. Last night Walter and Lucy both went to bed early, and Spencer was out of town, leaving just Jasper and me to enjoy our sparklers and fireworks.

Every year at about this time, I have my friend Angela over for the day to celebrate her birthday. I literally look forward to it all year. This morning I had to get up to take Lucy to work at 5:30, so I had already done quite a few things by the time I left to pick up Angela at 8:15.

The drive to Overton is always so beautiful and enjoyable. I don’t mind it at all, especially when everything is still green as it is now. In fact, it started raining as we drove back to my house. We stopped just long enough for me to let Spencer in the house, and then Angela insisted that we make a pilgrimage to the yarn store north of town.

She didn’t have to twist my arm too hard, mind you. January and July are sale months at the yarn store! She wanted me to pick out something for a birthday present.

I knew I didn’t dare buy any actual yarn. I am pretty committed to knitting from my stash until it reaches a more manageable size. My weakness is bags. And wouldn’t you know it, I saw one almost the minute I walked in the door, and it was within the right price range (a miracle! Some of those bags are $100!). It also had a fascinating design feature which made it irresistible—the zipper pull is attached to the handle, so when you open or close the zipper, the end of the handle moves with it.

7-5-17 birthday bag

So anyway, we browsed for a while. Both sisters (the proprietors) were there and spry as ever. I found some needles I “needed” and Angela found some sock yarn. The longer you stay in that store, the more you will find!

By the time we walked out of the store and got in the car, the rain had stopped and the sun was shining. I made us a big salad for lunch and I had already made a gluten-free birthday cake for Angela. We talked and visited over lunch and then we talked and visited while knitting. In other words, it was a perfect day. When Angela’s husband arrived to pick her up, he came in for a piece of cake and then they headed home. I hope we can do it again soon.

Parting Shot:

7-5-17 teacup cupcake stand.JPG

I made Angela a mini-layer-cake to take home with her, and first I made this teacup stand for it. I glued the saucer to the bottom of the cup and I think it turned out pretty well!

Leave a Reply

