Loser

There. I admit it. I’m a loser. I’m frighteningly good at losing things. A couple of years ago, I lost my “little” camera that I liked to slip into my handbag when my “good” camera was too bulky. I thought I knew where my camera was. Over time, I tore the house apart looking for it. It was not to be found.

A few months ago, I was sorting through and tidying up my study area, when I found the long-lost camera. It was quite safe, nestled in the corner of a basket I had searched at least a dozen times.

There was just one problem. The battery was dead, and during the camera’s long absence, I had lost the charger. So I put the camera into a little zippered case and did nothing.

A few days ago, I thought I’d just check and see how much it would cost to replace the battery charger. Not much at all, it turns out. The charger arrived yesterday and I immediately put the battery in to charge.

This morning, I put the newly-charged battery back into the camera and to my delight, it turned on! I had to reset all the settings on it but I didn’t care. I was just glad to have the thing back.

Then I had to get ready for today’s class and I set the camera down instead of putting it back in its case. I have no idea where it is. I was not trying to hide it so it should be in plain sight, right? Nope. So now I have a charger and a memory card reader, but the camera is once again missing! *sigh*

Why couldn’t I have lost something else—like diabetes, for instance?

Leave a Reply

