Hyacinths & Hot Cross Buns

Good Friday or not, I had to go to Aldi this morning, so I made sure to be there when it opened. It was still a madhouse! I brought home a very fragrant pot of hyacinths to grace our Easter table.

Shortly after getting home, I mixed up my first batch of Paleo bread. More about that on Monday. I will say that it is at least marginally edible. I haven’t had bread of any sort for over two months and am a little leery of going down this road, but I wanted to give it a try.

I also made the hot cross bun dough because at this house, Good Friday is hot cross bun day. The buns took a little longer than I expected during the rising stage, so we had our usual Good Friday tea a little later than normal. Janet came over because she hasn’t been able to make it to our Sunday night dinners for a long time. It was good to see her but all too brief.

While we were enjoying our tea, I was boiling some eggs. Once tea was over, Lina took charge of the egg-dyeing operation. I intended to dye a few eggs myself, but I sat down first and dozed off. By the time I woke up, the eggs were all splendiferous:

4-14-17 eggs

We had a quiet supper and spent the evening watching a video and knitting. Well, Lina and I knitted. My husband is not a knitter.

Leave a Reply

