A Busy St. Patrick’s Day

None of our St. Patrick’s Day traditions were observed today, other than wearing green. We had planned to get up at 7:00, but no one wanted to budge (including me) so we slept in another hour before getting up and going on our day.

Lina and Jasper went to the hotel lobby for breakfast while I stayed in the room to microwave an egg and a sausage patty. It worked out fine except that the lid of the container blew off and became so deformed that I had to throw it away.

We got on the road a little after 9:00 and crossed the border almost immediately. It has been many years since I drove through the farmland of Indiana. After so long, it was almost like driving through a dream. We bypassed Fort Wayne (our final destination) to drive north another hour and visit for a few minutes with Walter’s aunt, who has retired there in her hometown.

Here we were in Amish country, so the farms became even more picturesque. Huge barns brooding over snow-covered stubble fields; half-frozen ponds, an occasional horse and buggy on the road. It was like a snow-covered overdose of Americana.

After our visit with Walter’s aunt, we drive back down to Fort Wayne through slush. We saw several snow plows doing their job. We had to stop at a Wal-Mart to get Jasper some more presentable clothes to wear to tomorrow’s wedding. He objected, but was overruled.

We checked into our hotel and settled in to wait for the arrival of Mary and Flynn. I’m hoping we can explore a little tomorrow morning. My parents lived in Fort Wayne for many years, and I lived here for one year between my freshman and sophomore years of college. I had thought I did not want to go back to college, but one year of working at a job I loathed gave me huge motivation to go back to school and get my degree.

Now my brother lives here. The daughter who is getting married tomorrow has already moved to Wisconsin, but the other daughter still lives here. I am excited about getting to see so many nieces and nephews. Our spread-out family very rarely gathers like this.

So anyway, Mary and Flynn both arrived and we had a nice little family get-together in the hotel this evening. Tomorrow there will be lots more family.

Leave a Reply

