Rice Cakes, an Airport Run, and 1200 Stitches

You know why I didn’t post last night? Because I went to bed at 9:00. You know why I went to bed at 9:00? Because I had to get up at 3:30 this morning. You know why I had to get up at 3:30? Because I had to take Lina to the airport to catch an early flight out of Dallas.

Yesterday, though, I did one of the things I had promised Flynn we’d do while he was here, and that was make rice cakes. I had formed them into balls the night before, and yesterday morning we fried them. (Flynn has tried to do this on his own with disastrous and fiery results.) I rarely make rice cakes because of the time and work involved, and it’s an indication of my love for my son that I made them this week, because I can no longer eat them myself.

3-2-17-rice-cakes

As I believe I’ve mentioned before, these rice cakes are one of the things we ate for breakfast every single morning at my boarding school. I love them so much.

So anyway, at least everyone else got to enjoy rice cakes for breakfast!

In the afternoon, Lucy dyed Flynn’s hair, but I’m not allowed to reveal it yet. Lina returned from her two-week trip just in time to join the others for a pizza dinner. She was home a total of nine hours before we left this morning at 4:00 a.m. She’s spending the weekend with a friend from college days.

Meanwhile, I drove straight home from the airport and managed to get here in time to say goodbye to Flynn! He is visiting friends in Dallas today and will continue on his way home to Colorado tomorrow. It sure was a treat to have him here with us.

This afternoon I took Jasper to a 4-H skit practice. While he did that, I sat at the end of the room and tinked the 1200 stitches of doom. I am still working on my project that has 640 stitches per row. A couple of days ago I realized that I had made a mistake. A pattern row was one stitch off all the way around. Then I had knitted another row on top of it. This project is not one that lends itself well to “frogging,” which is when you just pull the needles out and rip it back. I did not want to have to pick up 640 stitches. So instead I painstakingly un-knit them one stitch at a time. This is called “tinking” (“knit” backwards). Now I’m back to where I was before I screwed up!

Parting Shot:

3-3-17-redbud

Redbuds are in full bloom right now.

Leave a Reply

