Company for Dinner

Sorry for my silence last night. I had a whopper of a headache and was glued to my computer waiting for a giraffe to give birth. Yeah. I bet some of you were too.

Today I got Jasper started on math and then went to Walmart to get the things I needed for supper tonight. You might remember back several weeks when Mercy’s friend Daniel was here and it came out that he is the nephew of a friend of ours from way back in the day. Well, this week it happens his uncle and aunt are in town for a missions conference, and since we hadn’t seen them for, uh, decades, we invited them to dinner (and also their daughter and Daniel).

When I haven’t seen someone for a really long time, I tend to go to more effort than usual over dinner, even if I don’t get to eat any of it. Nothing I made tonight was diabetic safe! I made my famous rosemary chicken, only this time I tried marinating the chicken in the sauce before baking it, and it seems to have been a success. There was also rice, broccoli salad, and homemade biscuits. I made mango cobbler for dessert and it all seems to have been well received.

Meanwhile, we enjoyed visiting during dinner and the rest of the evening. Tomorrow maybe I’ll get to taste a bit or two of leftovers . . .

And, still no baby giraffe.

 

Leave a Reply

