Twelfth Night

Today is Epiphany, and you know what that means? We’re going to have to take down our Christmas decorations this weekend. I’ll be sorry to see them go, but I’ll be glad to have my corner of the living room back.

This afternoon Lina and I drove to Tyler to check out a couple of stores. We were able to find some German goodies for Walter at the World Market. We also saw a least a couple dozen snowflakes!

Meanwhile, back at the ranch, Mercy made some special Korean pizza for everyone for supper, and afterwards Lina and Lucy made galette des rois, or king cake in honor of the day. The cake uses puff pastry, so when Lina and I were on our way home we stopped at a local grocery store to get some. Imagine my disappointment when I saw that the store was out of puff pastry. Then I saw that there was one package left, pushed toward the back of the freezer case. I pulled it out, only to find that it had been opened–and that someone had removed half of the contents and then put the box back! Now that’s tacky. Lina had to go to another store to get puff pastry.

Leave a Reply

