Music and Anticipation

I taught my last class of the semester yesterday, and I had one of those heartwarming moments that teachers sometimes have. I was teaching my students how to write an introduction paragraph for an essay, and I explained that they should never attempt the introduction until after they had written the body of the essay. One student just listened with her mouth hanging open. She had clearly never heard of this before. So I asked the students why they thought I insisted on writing the introduction after the body, and this one said, “Well, I don’t know, but it sure makes more sense than anything else I’ve ever been told!” It’s always nice when your students agree you know what you’re talking about!

I spent the evening yesterday with my autoharp, working on a song that I wanted my teacher to help me with, since I had a lesson today. It was my first lesson since August! I worked on music most of the morning also, before taking off on my 90-minute drive to Quitman. It was a gloomy, wet day with almost constant drizzle falling, but I didn’t mind because I was so looking forward to seeing my teacher Ann. We had a good visit and even played our autoharps! I am encouraged by how far I have come in the last two years. I still have a long way to go, but so many aspects of playing the autoharp are easier for me now.

After my long drive home, I found myself sharing the house with some grumpy offspring. That made me grumpy. By supper time, I think the whole family was grumpy! Maybe it has something to do with all the rain and the stress of trying to be ready for Lina’s arrival tomorrow.

After supper, Walter and Jasper and I went out to get a mattress and a trundle bed frame. That was absolutely necessary as the girls’ room will have three girls starting tomorrow and we only had two beds in there!

There are a few more odds and ends to take care of in the morning before Walter and I leave to go pick Lina up in Dallas. Having a smaller car now means we can’t take the whole family to meet her like we have in the past. By the time we get up in the morning, she should already be in the air!

 

Leave a Reply

