Something For Thee

It’s my job to choose the hymns for Sunday morning, since I have to practice and play them, and any time I choose a hymn I haven’t played before, I have to figure out the chords for it. So this week I chose the following hymn, which I have always loved, only to find out this morning that nobody else knew it! Fortunately, some were familiar with the tune and I played through it once before we started singing, so we made it through!

Something For Thee

 

Sylvanus D. Phelps

 

Savior, Thy dying love Thou gavest me,

Nor should I ought with-hold, dear Lord, from Thee:

In love my soul would bow, my heart fulfill its vow

Some off’ring bring Thee now, something for Thee.

 

At the blest mercy seat, pleading for me,

My feeble faith looks up, Jesus to Thee:

Help me the cross to bear, Thy wondrous love declare,

Some song to raise, or prayer, something  for Thee.

 

Give me a  faithful heart, likeness to Thee,

That each departing day henceforth may see

Some work of love begun, some deed  of  kindness done,

Some wand’rer sought and won, something  for Thee.

 

All that I am and have–Thy   gifts  so free–

In joy in  grief, through life, dear Lord for Thee!

And when Thy face I  see, my ransomed soul shall be,

Through all eternity, Something  for Thee.

 

Leave a Reply

