A Rude Awakening

I don’t like being awakened by the alarm clock under any circumstances, but this morning’s circumstances were especially unpleasant. The alarm went off at 5:55 like always, but when I rolled over to turn it off, I discovered I was too close to the edge of the bed and couldn’t stop myself from rolling all the way off.  Our bed is much higher than the standard height, so I hit the floor with quite a thud. I’m not actually sure how I ended up on my back, but I found myself up lying there with my head wedged between the bed and the nightstand and most of my body hurting! Because of where my head was, I couldn’t sit up by myself and Walter had to come give me a hand up.

A fall like this wouldn’t have been a big deal twenty years ago, but at my age it was very painful. My back, shoulders and head hit the floor hard! I have some impressive bruises. And for the second day in a row, I really wasn’t up to doing much. My head, shoulders, and back hurt. I had to keep changing position. I will be sore for a few days, no doubt.

I did manage to go to Walmart with Lucy (who is still sick), where I failed to get one of the main things I went for–bread! I guess it’s a good thing I’m going grocery shopping in the morning.

Leave a Reply

