Loved With Everlasting Love . . .

We sang this hymn in church this morning. This is a hymn that brings back a very specific memory for me. When I was in high school, I heard a lady give her testimony. I don’t remember her name or much at all about her, except that she had lived a very depraved life before giving her life to God. As she described her decision to turn her back on her old life and walk forward with God, she quoted the second verse of this hymn, telling us that for her, it was literally true. She said that from the moment of her decision, colors appeared more vivid and vibrant, and sounds more beautiful than they had before. It was as if she experienced a whole new world. I’ve never forgotten that.

I Am His, and He Is Mine

George W. Robinson

Loved with everlasting love, led by grace that love to know;
Gracious Spirit from above, Thou hast taught me it is so!
O this full and perfect peace! O this transport all divine!
In a love which cannot cease, I am His, and He is mine.
In a love which cannot cease, I am His, and He is mine.

Heav’n above is softer blue, Earth around is sweeter green!
Something lives in every hue Christless eyes have never seen;
Birds with gladder songs o’erflow, flowers with deeper beauties shine,
Since I know, as now I know, I am His, and He is mine.
Since I know, as now I know, I am His, and He is mine.

Things that once were wild alarms cannot now disturb my rest;
Closed in everlasting arms, pillowed on the loving breast.
O to lie forever here, doubt and care and self resign,
While He whispers in my ear, I am His, and He is mine.
While He whispers in my ear, I am His, and He is mine.

His forever, only His; Who the Lord and me shall part?
Ah, with what a rest of bliss Christ can fill the loving heart!
Heav’n and earth may fade and flee, firstborn light in gloom decline;
But while God and I shall be, I am His, and He is mine.
But while God and I shall be, I am His, and He is mine.

 

Leave a Reply

