Illness, Bad Movies & FOs

Yesterday all day I felt that feeling of doom that comes when you know you are getting sick. I resigned myself to sucking zinc lozenges, in the hopes that I could head any actual illness off at the pass.

This morning I woke up with a full-blown cold, so as I’m sure you can guess, it was a very low productivity day. Jasper and I got through the bare minimum of school. We had planned to go to park day, but I had to cancel as I realized I just wasn’t up to it. I did have to drag myself to Walmart to get some medicine and vitamin C, however.

And yes, I’ve been taking all the things. Zinc, vitamin C, broth with cayenne pepper in it, and garlic tea. I am very cautious with my garlic consumption because I have tried to take too much in the past and it didn’t go well.

Since I was under the weather anyway, it seemed like a good day to watch another movie with Lina. She has been “joining” us in Zambia as Jasper and I watch through the “old” Star Trek movies. Today’s installment was #V, “The Final Frontier.” It’s such a pathetic movie compared to some of the others, though admittedly not as bad as the first one. Glad we got that one out of the way–with any luck I’ll never have to see it again.

Finally, since today is the first day of September, it’s time to talk about my FOs (Finished Objects). I am lumping July and August together since I was on the road at the end of July. Of course the really big project I did in July was the Desert Assassin Cloak:

DA 5

But I also made another cloak, actually: The Garnet Rose Cloak, for Lucy’s diminutive friend Geneva.

Garnet Rose 1

It is made from beautiful velveteen which I scored at Hancock’s going-out-of-business sale. I also made quite a few dishcloths, most of which were given away before I even photographed them, but here are a couple that did get photographed:

Blue dishcloth

Green ballband

The green one is part of a set I am making for myself, using a finer gauge yarn than I normally use for dishcloths. I also knitted a hat, using the “Wurm” pattern. This is my third Wurm hat and I have more planned.

Wurm A

Leave a Reply

