The End of August

I can’t believe August is over already! At the same time, that means only a month or so until temperatures here become bearable for me.

Jasper and I had a pretty productive morning and early afternoon doing school. I also helped a student who missed class on Monday and took Spencer and Lucy to Walmart. I tried boiling eggs in my Instant Pot for the first time. The big question is whether or not they will be easy to peel tomorrow morning when Jasper and I make deviled eggs!

The other thing I made for tomorrow was a batch of my grandma’s famous pimiento cheese. It’s like the taste of childhood for me. I make it in my blender, despite my mom’s unshakeable belief that it only really turns out right if you use a meat grinder. If I ever get a meat grinder, maybe I’ll give it a try! But meanwhile, I’m planning to indulge in a gluten free pimiento cheese sandwich tomorrow.

Every time I make pimiento cheese, I think of my friend Peter. Back when we were teenagers in Africa, we attended the annual gathering of all the missionaries our mission had in Zambia. The teenagers had a picnic one day, and my mom made a huge container full of pimiento cheese sandwiches for me to take. Peter had never heard of pimiento cheese, let alone tasted it, but he was willing to give it a try. After that he kept asking if he could have another one of those “fermented cheese” sandwiches!

I’d appreciate it if you would pray that we can find Mercy’s passport. Her trip to Scotland kind of hinges on having a passport. Lucy spend quite a bit of time looking for it today, and it wasn’t where Mercy thought it was. We really need to find it soon!

Leave a Reply

