Verily, Verily

This hymn was popular when I was young and the chorus especially was sung a lot at my boarding school, but I haven’t heard it sung in decades. I’m definitely going to learn it for the autoharp for old times’ sake.

 

Verily, Verily

 

James McGranahan

 

Oh, what a Savior that He died for me!

From condemnation He hath made me free;

“He that believeth on the Son,” said He,

“Hath everlasting life.”

 

Refrain:

“Verily, verily, I say unto you,

Verily, verily,” message ever new;

“He that believeth on the Son,” ‘tis true,

“Hath everlasting life.”

 

All my iniquities on him were laid,

All my indebtedness by Him was paid;

All who believe on Him, the Lord hath said,

“Hath everlasting life.”

 

Refrain

 

Though poor and needy I can trust my Lord,

Though weak and sinful I believe His word;

Oh, glad message! Ev’ry child of God

“Hath everlasting life.”

 

Refrain

 

Though all unworthy, yet I will not doubt,

For him that cometh He will not cast out;

“He that believeth,” oh, the good news shout,

“Hath everlasting life.”

 

Refrain

Leave a Reply

