Home Again At Last!

The last three days have been long and filled with driving. Even a few years ago, I would not have believed myself capable of taking such a long trip by myself. Here is a summary. In the last nine days I have:

  • Driven a total of 3039 miles
  • Given away five of my handmade dishcloths
  • Visited a cousin’s family twice (and spent the night at their house)
  • Visited Lina’s friend Jennifer twice, also spending the night
  • Been reunited with a dear friend whom I hadn’t seen in 35 years
  • Driven through 7 states: Texas, Arkansas, Tennessee, Kentucky, West Virginia, Maryland, and Pennsylvania
  • Gotten lost in the streets around Villanova University twice
  • Attended my third Realm Makers writers’ conference
  • Failed miserably at spreading joy by offering tea to my fellow attendees
  • Had appointments with three entities, all of whom requested material from me
  • Had three awesome roommates
  • Ingested quite a bit more caffeine than I am used to
  • Gotten into heated and bitter arguments with my phone GPS
  • Arrived safely home

 

Regarding the question that some have asked: “Was it worth it?” I am still cogitating on that one. My feelings about this experience are complex and puzzling at the moment.

Leave a Reply

