Accomplishments

After having my sewing room unusable since Christmas, today I finally managed to dig out my sewing machine. There is still a LOT of work to do in the rest of the room, but I couldn’t resist using my machine once I could get to it. I have a bag that I bought at the end of last summer when it was on sale. Once I got it home and looked at it, I saw that the stitching was very shoddy and poorly done. And yes, I am OCD enough that I have refused to use that bag all these months because I wanted to re-stitch all the seams myself. So NOW I can use the bag!

I also took a scarf that I found during the clean-up and sewed the ends together to make it an infinity scarf. I am scarf-impaired and can’t wear a scarf without looking stupid—unless it’s an infinity scarf. So that’s all I wear now. I have a lot of them. I hope they never go out of style.

Of course I also taught my class today. This is a pretty good bunch of kids.

This evening I accomplished something else pretty momentous. I did some research on flights for Lucy, and found out that she already has enough money saved up to get her ticket to Bolivia—so we went ahead and booked her flights. She’s really going! So, for those of you who are interested, here are some links for you:

This is a link to her blog about her Bolivia adventure:

http://boliviab0und.blogspot.com/2016/06/first-things-first.html

Here is a link to the Facebook Page maintained by the Vargas family, with whom she’ll be working:

https://www.facebook.com/Vargas-Vistas-121546787874899/

And finally, here is a link to the fundraising site (she still needs to raise funds to cover all her in-country expenses):

https://www.youcaring.com/fundraiser-559238#.V1d0tpKaEyg.facebook

Leave a Reply

