An Anniversary & The Month of Many Meetings

One year ago today, I was in the hospital recovering from my emergency appendectomy. I had just discovered I had full-blown Type 2 diabetes and dangerously high blood pressure. Needless to say, it was not a very good day. My recovery was slow, but here I am a year later, still alive and finally starting to be more productive. We are still paying for my sudden trip to the hospital, and will be for some time, but I am just so grateful to be here.

This month is going to be full of happy meetings, starting tomorrow. Tomorrow evening my parents will arrive to stay through the weekend and join the festivities for graduation. They will be staying with dear friends who have a much quieter home than we do. On Friday Mary and Jordan will arrive, and Flynn should get in late that evening.

Meanwhile, we will host a cookout at supper time for some dear friends from Zambia. Jonnie (one of our Sunday night adopted students) is also graduating and his parents and siblings will all be here, along with his paternal grandparents.  His grandfather used to fly me to boarding school when I was a kid growing up in Zambia. And his dad and I grew up together in Zambia and then attended the same college and ended up on the same mission station together when Jonnie was a baby. It’s going to be great. We will also be joined by other Zambia friends whom we very rarely see, although they live in town.

Later this month Walter and I will embark on a road trip to attend the wedding of Janet’s brother Joel. On the way we will get to have a brief visit with Walter’s mother and sister, and also a family that is very dear to my heart. One member of that family I am longing to meet is a baby born earlier this spring! Then once we arrive in Virginia, I will get a couple of days to hang out with Janet’s mother, my dear friend Anita. Anita and her husband are coming from Zambia for the wedding and she specially requested my presence. I have not seen her since 2000, which was the last time I went to Zambia.

Then, before we even get back from Virginia, a very special guest will arrive at our house. A long time ago, in a blog far, far away, I met and made friends with a lady named Nettie in Arizona. She was home schooling her four kids and I my seven. We both moved to new blogs but stayed in touch. Our kids grew up and some of them became friends on Facebook. Nettie expanded her family by unconventional means and now has ten kids to my eight (I count Jordan too!). Because of our longstanding friendship, I sent Nettie’s family one of Lucy’s graduation announcements, and guess what? Nettie’s daughter Geneva is going to come for a visit!

We are so excited. So many years have gone by and no one from our family has ever met anyone from Nettie’s family. Now, at last, an ambassador is coming from Arizona! We just found out about it yesterday morning, but Lucy and I have already been making plans to make the most of Geneva’s visit. What a fantastic way to end the month.

Meanwhile, I have had a very busy and productive day, wrapping up stuff for the school year and working on another project. It’s almost finished!

Parting Shot:

5-4-16 Jasper's red hair

Lucy and Jasper had fun today. . .

 

One thought on “An Anniversary & The Month of Many Meetings

Leave a Reply

