So Drowsy

Sorry about the lack of a hymn yesterday. I lost my internet connection and was too tired to stay up any later than I already had.

Yesterday was the first Sunday in a long time that I didn’t have to take my autoharp to church. Gwen played the piano to accompany the singing, and that was a treat for everyone, but especially for me!

Afterwards we had a potluck dinner. So. Much. Food. I didn’t dare eat even a smidgeon of dessert, even if I had room (which I didn’t) because the new meds have not been doing a good job of keeping my blood sugar in check.

Today I was up early working on class stuff and doing the reading. I had to make an emergency run for milk, only to find when I got home that dog food was also an urgent need.

I did manage to get in some autoharp practice before setting off for my lesson at lunchtime. There was just one problem. By the time I reached the north side of town, I realized I was dangerously sleepy. If I had been driving the Suburban, I would have simply reached into the console for one of the caffeine tablets I have stashed there. Instead, I was driving our “new” car, formerly belonging to my mother-in-law. There was no caffeine.

I tried every trick I knew to stay awake, but by the time I reached the first small town on my route, I knew I was endangering my life by staying on the road. I pulled into the parking lot of a Dollar General and dragged myself inside, where I bought two energy shots. I drank one and set the second aside for future emergencies. I took several deep breaths, closed my eyes for about 30 seconds, and said a prayer before heading back out.

Over the next few minutes, my ability to focus came back and I was able to function. I’m not sure why I was so overcome, but I’m glad I had the sense to take action before something tragic happened. I was a few minutes late to my lesson but that is nothing compared to what could have happened.

I had a good lesson, and was given a specific skill to work on, so that was good. I adore my teacher, Ann, and today she looked so pretty I just had to take her picture:

2-22-16 Ann

She is such a blessing in my life and I am so thankful for her.

By the time I was most of the way home, my drowsiness had returned and I was glad I had to stop for dog food, as it perked me up just enough to get me home! I had to take a nap before I could even think of tackling supper or the huge pile of work I had waiting for me.

I was so happy to hear my mother is out of the hospital now, after being there since Friday night. She is facing some new health challenges and I would greatly appreciate your prayers for her.

Parting Shot:

2-22-16 by Ann's driveway

This is one of the tiny creeks running by Ann’s driveway. The moss is so vivid and pretty.

Leave a Reply

