A Canine Crisis, An Expo & New Walls

Today was a big day for Jasper. His 4-H group had a room at the local RV & Boat Expo to promote their 4-H activities. Jasper and his friend Sam were there demonstrating their robots.

The day got off to a very rough start, though. Both dogs escaped during the night. Lucy was still up when they took off, and Spencer arrived home shortly after, but he was not willing to go after them in the wee hours of the morning, and to be honest, in this neighborhood I don’t blame him.

The dogs had not returned by morning, and Lucy and Jasper had no luck finding them despite go all over the neighborhood and quite far afield in their search. After they came back empty-handed, I was a little late in getting Jasper to the convention center for his robotics stint.

I clearly was not needed there, and I was glad, because my allergies kicked into gear today and I was doing very poorly for a while there. I came home and took a nap and felt a little better by the time I had to go get Jasper at lunchtime.

He had agreed to go back at 3:00 this afternoon, but when we got there, we found the convention center surrounded by fire trucks and the parking lots full of people. I sent Jasper to find out what was going on, and it turned out the center had lost power and everyone had been evacuated. He still wanted to stay and help once power was restored, so I left him with friends from church and headed home.

I got a phone call before I even reached home, saying that the expo had been shut down for the day due to the lack of power. Our friends brought Jasper home.

He was disappointed at not getting to go back to the expo, but as consolation he got to help Walter build the walls of his treehouse. It was a gorgeous, sunny day in the mid-70s so it was great to be outside. Now the treehouse has lattice-panel walls on three sides and I don’t have to worry that someone will accidentally fall off!

I got some work on Geography done and autoharp practice too. The dogs have not returned. Lucy is beside herself with worry. Please pray that they find their way home!

Leave a Reply

