Greek Food & a Rare Indulgence

I’m not sure what happened to yesterday. I took Lucy to her art class and waited in the car for her. On the way home, we picked up her friend Martha to spend the rest of the day with us.

In the afternoon I took Jasper to his piano lesson and Lucy made spanakopita for today’s Geography class.

Every other spare minute I was researching and preparing for Geography class.

One thing is worth mentioning, however. During the time I was waiting in the car, and while Jasper had his piano lesson, I was reading a book. I finished the book–the first one of this new year. I so rarely have time to read for pleasure these days, it was a real treat. The book I read was The Woman Who Walked in Sunshine, the 16th installment of the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series by Alexander McCall Smith.  This series, set in Botswana, is like a brief visit home for me. I hope I can find time to read another book soon.

Today was all about Geography. We were studying southeastern Europe, which was a great excuse to make a Greek meal. Lucy had made the spanakopita yesterday, of course, so this morning I got up and made the gluten-free Greek honey cake and then while I was off getting Haley, Lucy made the salad and the egg-and-lemon soup.  I should also confess that when I drove out to get Haley, I was wearing fuzzy socks and slippers, since I don’t currently own shoes. I rarely sink that low, but my feet were cold and I knew I wasn’t going to get out of the car! Oh, and I found the house much more easily this time.

When we returned to the house, we had a delicious meal. I love Greek food. We also enjoyed watching a couple of videos about Greece and then talking about many of the other countries in the region. I have been to Greece, but I want to see all the rest too!

Tomorrow I’m going to the doctor. I’m pretty sure she’s not going to be happy with me because I was supposed to go see her in October.

Leave a Reply

