Two Continents, One Shared Experience

A few months ago, I had an idea. Now, I am an “idea” person and I have dozens of ideas per day, most of which are rubbish. Some, however, are pretty good. This one, I thought, was actually brilliant.

Lina had sent us her Christmas list at my request, and one of the things on it was a mini-series that I really wanted to see also. (Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell, in case you wondered.) Lina, Mary, Jordan, Flynn, Mercy and I had all read the book and loved it. So I got a copy of the series for Lina and one for me too, and I sent a note with Lina’s suggesting that we could watch it together on opposite sides of the ocean.

Fortunately, the package did get there in time! And this morning we texted each other and set up and started watching together. We texted comments back and forth as we watched. It was the next best thing to being in the same room! We had hoped to be on Facebook chat together, but her internet was not up to the task.

We watched an episode before lunch and two episodes after. By then it was late for Lina and we had to start getting ready for Mary and Jordan’s departure. But it was so much more enjoyable to be sharing the experience with Lina! Hopefully we can also watch the remaining episodes “together.” I am sure we will do something like this again.

Another thing that happened today was that I received an encouraging email from someone who was reading and enjoying my Sakeji memoir, and who is a former student also. Made my day!

We had an early supper so Mary and Jordan would not have to stop and eat on the road. They planned to drive to Mississippi this evening and then continue on to Florida tomorrow. It was sad to have to say goodbye to them. I love having my adult children visit and it never gets easier to see them go!

Then we still had our carol-sing-and-cookie-social at church. I had agreed to accompany the singing on my autoharp and it worked out pretty well. There was only one carol I didn’t have chords for and we sang that a Capella. Then we sat around and snacked and visited for quite a while. It was a nice break.

Now we’re back home and I’ve had a little time to unwind, but my sewing awaits and I must apply myself to it if I am to be done in time . . .

 

2 thoughts on “Two Continents, One Shared Experience

Leave a Reply

