A Birthday and a Movie

Well, yesterday was quite a day! We had church in the morning and then after lunch all nine of us headed up to the theater to watch the new Star Wars movie. It seemed like a good time to do it because it was Janet’s birthday and she is a Star Wars fan. I will be writing something specifically about Star Wars in the next few days, but don’t worry–it won’t have spoilers. I’m SO GLAD that no one leaked any spoilers to me before we went!

After the movie, Mary and Jordan left to meet up with a friend and the rest of us chilled until supper time. It seems the custom in Sri Lanka (where Janet’s parents are originally from) is to treat your friends on your birthday, so Janet’s parents had sent her the funds to take us all out to dinner. We went to a Thai restaurant here in town, one I hadn’t been to before. The food was delicious and it was such a fun meal. Afterwards we drove through one of the more affluent neighborhoods where many of the houses are decorated with lavish light displays.

When we got home, we still had cake and ice cream waiting. It was a great evening.

Then I had to come home and do one of my least-favorite tasks in the world–cutting stuff out. I got Lucy to help me but I was still up till 2:00 a.m.

One thought on “A Birthday and a Movie

Leave a Reply

