All About Harvest Festival

I wasn’t really looking forward to today, but of course it came whether I wanted it to or not! Lucy left for her classes and I worked on Geography stuff until Jasper got up and did his morning stuff. He had signed up to enter a photograph in the Harvest Festival but had not even taken one yet!

I sent him out onto the campus while I showered and dressed, thinking that if he didn’t find anything interesting there I could take him somewhere when he returned.

However, to my delight he found plenty of stuff to photograph, including several of a single large hibiscus flower. He chose one of the hibiscus photos to enter, so I uploaded it for him. Soon afterwards, I left to pick up Lucy and stopped to get a plate for the torte and some cardstock to use as mattes for the photo and picture Jasper did.

After getting Lucy, it was on to pick up the photo from the drugstore and then home to supervise the making of another hazelnut apple torte. Jasper had to do it all himself, but I was free to give him advice. Shortly after it came out of the oven it was time to head out to piano.

On the way home from piano, we stopped at the grocery store so I could pick up some plastic wrap to cover the torte with. While in the store, I saw a young mother with her toddler. About one-third of her face was covered with a massive bruise. I felt so helpless. I know nothing about her. For all I know, she could have had a bad fall (done that myself) or been in a car accident (ditto) or had something fall on her. But I couldn’t help wondering if that bruise was the evidence of abuse, and all I could do was to pray for her as I watched her check out ahead of me.

As soon as we got home I had to plate the torte. Easier said than done. The ring of the springform pan came off beautifully, but the bottom was a different matter. Some cracking occurred. It was too late to do anything so we just had to take it as it was.

10-21-15 Jasper with torte

Meanwhile, Lucy and Jasper had walked to the store to get a couple of inexpensive picture frames for his photo and picture. Once we had everything ready, Jasper and I set off for the Harvest Festival and submitted his work. To our dismay, we discovered that Lucy hadn’t secured the pictures to the background cardstock, so both were now crooked! Nothing we could do about it though. The judging is tomorrow. On the way home, we stopped off to get some pita bread for tomorrow’s Geography class.

Since then, I’ve been pretty busy preparing for tomorrow’s class. Walter got some more painting done in the living room. I think the floor job may start happening this weekend. Tomorrow it will be an early morning taking Jasper to help at the Harvest Festival concession stand first thing.

Leave a Reply

