A Successful Food Drive

Today I was on my own at Walmart, since Jasper was still at his friend’s house and Lucy was out of town. The cashier was very concerned to see me by myself! Jasper has been coming with me almost every Saturday for many years now.

At lunchtime Jasper and I headed up to the north side of town for the 4-H service project, which was having a food drive at a grocery store there. I was stunned at how much food they collected! This will be a big boost for the local food pantry.

On our way home, we stopped at Lowe’s so I could get a lamp for my office corner. I felt I needed a wall-mounted reading lamp that the cats cannot knock over. Hopefully Walter will find time to install it soon. My little corner is starting to take shape.

I still had to ice cupcakes for the block party tonight. We were a little late since Walter had to shower first after his long day of work. As I suspected, there was not much I could eat except my hamburger patty, which I ate with lettuce leaves instead of a bun. We have very nice neighbors, some of whom we have known for many years. We also met some new ones. They had organized a game of “neighbor bingo,” and one of the squares that had to be signed was “someone who knits.” Although I qualified to sign nine other squares, I signed a LOT of the knitting ones!

Mercy arrived back from her long day in Dallas playing four back-to-back rugby games and is spending the night here. She is tired. They lost all four games, but they learned a lot and this was the first time they had played. She has many bruises but is otherwise intact.

This evening I have worked on geography and tuning and practicing my autoharp. I didn’t get as much done as I would have liked, but it was a pretty good day.

Leave a Reply

