Lead Me to Calvary

We sang this hymn in church this morning, which made me think about the fact that I haven’t featured it for a long time. Here are the English words:

Lead Me to Calvary

Jennie E. Hussey

King of my life, I crown Thee now,
Thine shall the glory be;
Lest I forget Thy thorn crowned brow,
Lead me to Calvary.

Refrain

Lest I forget Gethsemane,
Lest I forget Thine agony;
Lest I forget Thy love for me,
Lead me to Calvary.

Show me the tomb where Thou wast laid,
Tenderly mourned and wept;
Angels in robes of light arrayed
Guarded Thee whilst Thou slept.

Refrain

Let me like Mary, through the gloom,
Come with a gift to Thee;
Show to me now the empty tomb,
Lead me to Calvary.

Refrain

May I be willing, Lord, to bear
Daily my cross for Thee;
Even Thy cup of grief to share,
Thou hast borne all for me.

Refrain

Even when I sing these English words, however, I still hear the echoes of the words I sang growing up. This hymn was a favorite at the church I attended as a kid in boarding school. There we sang in the Lunda language, so I am giving you the Lunda words too. The “ŋ” is pronounced like the “ng” in “song.”

Oku kuKavari

(Lead Me to Calvary)

Mwanta wamuchima wami,

Danukishi dinu,

Chiwafwili hakulusu

Oku kuKavari.

 

Nakenda kalalamena

Ihuŋu daŊesemani;

Nichiwamfwilili Mwanta

Oku kuKavari.

 

Nshimwini, Mwanta, chibaaba

Chanyibambaŋoma

Akuvwikili kud’antu

Oku kuKavari.

 

Niluki kukeŋa kweyi

Kweneni nankashi

Kwamwekeni hankuuliluwu

Oku kuKavari.

 

Nlej’ijamu deyi Mwanta

Wafumamu dehi

Niluki ŋovu yaNzambi

Wakusaŋwilumu.

 

Nkwashuku Mwanta niiteji,

Hefuku hefuku,

Kusenda kulusu yami

Nakukulondaŋa.

 

Leave a Reply

