Shakespeare in the Park

It’s probably just as well I couldn’t get online last night. I was kind of in a funk because I had read some pretty harsh criticism of something I wrote, and I didn’t handle it well. I like to think I’ve developed the necessary thick skin, but sometimes something like this happens and I wonder if I’m just kidding myself about my chances of ever getting published. It’s especially unfortunate to have this crisis of confidence when I am only nine days away from a writers’ conference! This morning I took a deep breath, finished revising a new story, and sent it off to yet another contest. I will probably continue trying to write some short stories and either enter them in contests or send them out to periodicals, in hopes of establishing some kind of track record.

Yesterday I had my Story Quest class and we talked about villains. I do love a good bad guy! It looks like I’m going to get to take a class about villains myself when I go to the conference.

Today I had to get moving earlier than normal so that Jasper and I could go to the park and see our homeschool group’s truncated version of A Midsummer Night’s Dream. Several of my former students were in the cast, which made it that much more enjoyable for me. I had my camera and took quite a few photos in case others wanted them.

7-15-15 sleeping

Even at 9:00 in the morning, it was still pretty warm, so we didn’t linger when the play ended. The real Texas summer has finally arrived, much to my dismay.

I spent the rest of the day trying to catch up on tasks that should have been done weeks ago, and at least made headway on my to-do list. Since Walter had to work later than usual this evening, Lucy and Jasper and I had a “movie dinner” in the living room. After the movie I called my mom and got caught up on her busy life. This summer is going by much too fast!

Quote of the Day:

Yesterday, Jasper came running to tell me about something funny the cats had done, and he added, “I took a video of it in my head since my camera’s not working.”

 

Leave a Reply

