A Hot Drive & a New Phone

Well, I knew today was going to be a long day. I got up early so I could get going on my class prep. I had a lot to do and I just barely got it done before my students arrived.

Lucy wanted to leave right after class ended at 11:30, but Walter had said he wanted to check the car out first, and it’s a good thing he did, because it needed oil.

I think we finally left a little after 12:30. On our way we stopped at the massive new Buc-ee’s travel stop that has recently opened up between here and Dallas. I had heard so much about it that I suppose my expectations were pretty high. Their gas prices are great. The restrooms are indeed clean and spiffy. The store is a dream destination if your intention is to put yourself into a sugar coma. They seemed to have every kind of candy, snack, and sugary drink there is. Not a great place for a diabetic!

Lucy had forgotten her toothbrush and toothpaste, so we assumed we could buy some there, and we could, but the “drugstore” section was so miniscule it took us awhile to find it!

After that we continued on to the university campus where her arts camp is held, and once again we missed the turn and had to take a back road to get there. I got her registered and then waited until I was at least a little cooled off before getting back into the hot car for the drive home. The wind was very intense the whole way there and back. I felt like I was fighting the wind every minute. It was good to get home.

When I got home, my “new” (refurbished) phone was waiting for me. It has taken me all evening to get it sort of up and running. I guess I’ll work on it some more tomorrow after I teach my two classes.

Quote of the Day:

When we were in Buc-ee’s, there was a little girl who was running through the store, but she stopped dead in her tracks when she saw Lucy with her turquoise, blue and black hair. Her eyes lit up and she said, “Mermaid!”

Leave a Reply

