Blue Berries and Green Hair

Jasper and I were up at the crack of dawn this morning and soon on our way to the blueberry farm. We went once last year, but it was at the tail end of the season and we didn’t get many berries. We also didn’t know that you really need to go early.

Today, we got there very close to the opening time of 7:00, after a drive of 45 minutes or so. Even so, the tiny parking lot was full, leaving no choice but to park in a luxuriant poison ivy patch. Fortunately, I have never had a reaction to poison ivy.

It was actually quite pleasant when we started picking.  We had a whole row to ourselves and the bushes were covered with berries. I had originally intended to pick for an hour, but we ended up picking for almost two hours and got nine and a half pounds of berries. By the time we finished, the sun was much higher and we were both hot and sweaty. We drove home triumphant and had a late breakfast.

After lunch, I went to my room to rest and when I came out, Lucy had dyed Jasper’s hair green with some “leftover” green dye she had and they were both giggling. I am puzzled. What was the dye left over from? Anyway, Jasper will soon be getting a haircut so most of the green will go away!

Jasper had a project to work on, and he needed me to take him shopping, so got that taken care of and it wasn’t until much too late that Walter reminded me there was a beekeeping meeting we had planned to go to tonight. Grrrr! I hope someone we know went so we can find out what happened. We really should have been there.

I also got some editing done and figured out what I’ll be playing this Sunday. I haven’t played my autoharp nearly enough this week.

Parting Shot:

6-25-15 spider web

Jasper noticed this spectacular spider web on one of the blueberry bushes. If you click on it you can get a better look and see the proprietor waiting in the middle.

Leave a Reply

