Sticker Shock

Well, since the garage sale got postponed (poor Emma actually ended up in the hospital), today was a lot more leisurely than I had expected, and it’s a good thing, because my allergies and arthritis have both really been getting me down. We did school and I practiced autoharp quite a bit because I’ve been so busy trying to get caught up on other things.

This afternoon Lucy and I ran an errand. I had one of those $10 coupons from Kohl’s, so I dropped her off there to look for a blouse while I went to the health food store to pick up a few things. When I went back to Kohl’s to find Lucy, I felt kind of bad for leaving her there. That store is way, way out of our league. I never, ever darken the doors except to spend one of those coupons and I always make a beeline for the kitchen section.

So there was poor Lucy, looking at clothes that were far beyond our budget even with the $10 off. Some of the prices were almost comical to me. I wear a lot of infinity scarves, so I checked them out there and they were $28–and no nicer than the ones that I paid $5 for. Tops that I mentally priced at $15 cost $60. Lucy ended up getting something that she did really need but I’m not sure it was worth it even with the $10 off. I realized there’s a reason I do almost all of my shopping at Walmart!

It’s going to be a busy weekend so maybe I should get some sleep!

One thought on “Sticker Shock

  1. Yeah Kohl’s… I definitely look for the sales there, but even so, rarely go there for the girls. If I need to get something dressy for Jacob of Paul, that’s my go-to store, but that’s very rare, hardly even once a year. We’re happy being more casual, going to thrift stores, or Ross (the girls LOVE Ross!).

    Like

Leave a Reply

