It’s That Pollen Time of Year

It rained pollen last night. It must have been quite a downpour. When I went outside to run an errand this morning, the car was covered in a layer of yellowish-green pollen–which also explains why I’ve been feeling so poorly the last couple of days. Anyway, I got in the car and turned on the wipers to remove the pollen. About 30 seconds later, as I pulled out of the driveway, it started misting and the dry pollen on the windscreen turned into a sticky sludge that made it very difficult to see where I was going. It was a good 10 minutes before enough drizzle had hit the windshield to clean that goop away. I hate spring so much.

The two main things on my mind today were my class and getting ready for Lucy’s garage sale. Two of my students were unable to make it today, so class felt very under-attended. Then right afterwards, Lucy found out that the garage sale is going to have to be postponed because her friend Emma is sick. Lucy had just finished making a big batch of mug-cakes to sell! We will see if we can sell them at the chai party, which we can now have this weekend since we won’t be having a garage sale!

Meanwhile, Flynn signed a lease for an apartment in Colorado and hopefully has his stuff moved in by now. He still has a few days to get settled in before he starts work on Monday, and Mary is there to help him too. Her trip was planned before Flynn knew how soon he’d be moving there!

Tomorrow, maybe I’ll get some sewing done on my own dresses for the orphanage in Africa!

Leave a Reply

