Field Trip!

Since this week is Spring Break, it seemed like a good time to plan a field trip. Jasper spent last night and this morning doing robotics stuff, so Lucy and I decided to go on an excursion. There is a free historical museum in a nearby town, and I’ve always been curious about it. It’s a civil war era house that has been beautifully preserved:

 3-10-15 Goodman

It was not crowded. The weather was cool and overcast–lovely after all the rain we’ve had. We were greeted by the curator, who invited us to watch a video about the house. It was a surprisingly long video–about half an hour, but it was worth watching because it made touring the house so much more interesting. Everything was so nicely kept and in good condition. The house was donated to the city in 1939, I think–with everything in it, including clothes, dishes, etc. Some of the dishes were beautifully hand painted by one of the occupants of the house. Lucy and I couldn’t help noticing how very narrow the ladies’ shoes were. I hate to imagine what those ladies would think of our big wide feet!

The grounds are beautifully landscaped and I believe they will be stunning in a few weeks when everything is in bloom. Today, the bare branches were very striking against the grey sky.

3-10-15 branches

After finishing at the museum, we drove south as I had promised to take Lucy to World Market. I figured we would just get lunch in that shopping center. It turns out there is only one restaurant in that whole big new shopping center–a pizza place. I walked in hoping fervently that they had salads, because we all know how incredibly stupid it is for me to eat pizza.

We had to wait a long time for a table, but while we waited we checked out the carry-out menu and to our delight, we found that they offer gluten-free pizza! Not only was it gluten free; it had an exquisitely thin crust, which is what I prefer. I am married to a man who likes really thick, bready pizza crust, so that is what I have been making for almost 34 years. Now, getting any pizza at all is a big treat, but getting thin crust is extra special! And we did get salad too, to make us feel better about the pizza.

After that it was on to World Market, where we spent most of our time checking out the food. They had both Marmite and Vegemite:

3-10-15 marmite

You can have the Vegemite if you want it, but the Marmite is MINE ALL MINE. We also found some tins of Spotted Dick:

3-10-15 spotted Dick

And lots of chocolate and pasta and other interesting things. We did get a few little treats to bring home.

Then it was time to drive home through the gloom. We never saw the sun at all today, or any evidence that it even exists–but at least it wasn’t raining! Maybe tomorrow I’ll actually get to do some of the stuff I had planned for this week . . .

Parting Shot:

3-10-15 tree branches 2

More tree branch art.

 

3 thoughts on “Field Trip!

  1. Where is that? I almost looks like the house in Henderson that we always used to dream about! I might have to go check it out the next time I’m stateside…

    Like

  2. What a fun day! The tree branches are spectacularly artistic. I’m rather fond of barren trees. Never tried Vegemite or Marmite, but I may have to visit the nearest World Market and pick some up to try. I’ll let you know my impressions if I do find some! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

