Old Friends & Bad Weather

As I’m sure you can imagine, it has been simply sublime to be able to take hot showers again. Oh, so heavenly! I am so thankful to have a handy husband.

Yesterday after church it was time to start getting ready for company. Our “adopted” college student, Jonnie, had alerted me that his parents and sister were coming into town for a couple of days. Jonnie’s parents are old friends of our from Zambia days. In fact his dad and I went to grade school at Sakeji together. And college also, right here where Jonnie is now a student.

So anyway, we had invited them to come over for a visit and stay for supper. Add in Spencer’s girlfriend and Mercy’s boyfriend, and I was cooking for 12 yesterday. What a change from last week’s pitiful three people at Sunday dinner!

I tried to get as much done as I could (cooking and cleaning) before our visitors arrived. It was so good to see them again. We had a nice visit before everyone else arrived for supper.

2-23-15 Weiandts

Twelve is the maximum we can fit around our table, and it is rather crowded, but it is also fun to have a table full. The rosemary chicken and roasted vegetables were a big hit, as was the cherry crunch for dessert.

As the evening progressed, one of the big topics of conversation was the weather. Originally, we were supposed to get freezing rain by midnight. Then 4:00 a.m. The university panicked and postponed classes until midmorning today. When our friends left late in the evening, there was still no sign of bad weather and the estimate was for the precipitation to hit at 6:00. By the time we went to bed they were saying 7:00.

Meanwhile, my mom called to let me know that they had been power-less for two days, had a tree down across the road, and were sitting in the dark in a frigid house. (They live in eastern Tennessee.) I was more than a little concerned!

When we got up this morning it was still clear and they were saying the freezing precipitation might hit at 10:00. Or 11:00. Walter went to work at his usual time. I had promised my students I’d let them know by 9:00 if we were cancelling class. You can imagine how relieved I was to get a text from my mother letting me know that their power had been restored.

At 9:00 it was just beginning to rain here, but the weather map showed a very large system headed our way, so I canceled my classes. By 10:00 it started sleeting. Walter got sent home and university classes were cancelled for the rest of the day. At 11:00 it looked like this:

2-23-15 kids & ice

That’s Jasper and his friends carrying dog food bags to slide on down the slope behind our house. When they all were thoroughly chilled, they came into the house to make hot chocolate.

With no responsibilities, it was a luxuriously lazy day. I took a nap and a shower in the morning (glorious hot water!). I did some handwork, some editing, and almost finished a pair of orphanage shorts. Another nap happened, as did a call to my mother.

At some point, the sleet turned to snow and the whiteness in the yard deepened:

2-23-15 afternoon ice & snow

Apparently we might get more frozen precipitation overnight, and more is forecast for Wednesday morning. The kids have been longing for snow this winter!

Parting Shot:

2-23-15 icicle

An icicle dangling over our front porch.

Leave a Reply

