About Robots

Do you know the three laws of robotics?

1. A robot may not injure a human being or, through inaction, allow a human being to come to harm.
2. A robot must obey the orders given it by human beings, except where such orders would conflict with the First Law.
3. A robot must protect its own existence as long as such protection does not conflict with the First or Second Law.

(There is eventually a Zeroth Law, which we don’t need to go into here.)I won’t look askance at you if you don’t know them. They were literally burned into my brain after reading dozens (yes, dozens) of Isaac Asimov books.
Jasper is fascinated by robotics. He is going to love reading Asimov in a couple of years. Meanwhile, one of his big dreams came true today with the first meeting of the 4-H Lego Robotics club. Jasper has begged for this for the last two years. At first, he wanted to just start his own Lego Robotics thing. We had no idea that there was an official 4-H Robotics program.

Thanks to the rousing success of the poinsettia fundraiser last fall, there was enough money to buy three Lego Robotics sets for our local 4-H club, and tonight we had our first meeting. A robotics expert from Dallas came and gave a presentation on robotics. First, though, he let the kids loose on a table with marshmallows (big and little), straws, and uncooked spaghetti, and challenged them to build the tallest tower they could. Jasper was so focused on his tower that I had to remind him more than once to pay attention to the speaker!

2-12-15 tower building

We took a break to have supper. My friend Tammie had made chili, and I had promised to bring cornbread and a dessert. At our regular meeting on Monday, Tammie told me that we could have up to 20 people at the meeting, so I sort of panicked. I have a psychological disorder, you see. I don’t know the official name for it, but it is “fear of not bringing enough food to a social event.” I made a massive batch of cornbread. The pan was 12 x 18 inches and the cornbread was a good 3 inches deep. So. Much. Cornbread.

Then I made a much smaller batch of gluten-free cornbread, and of course I made a dessert. This time I made a cherry chocolate dump cake (in a 10 x 15 pan) and I thought it looked amazing and was sorry I couldn’t have any. However, I think only 3 pieces were eaten (out of 24). The kids were much more interested in getting back to their towers and learning about robots.

Eventually the kids got to get Robotics kits and make their first robots. Jasper teamed up with his buddy Samuel (Tammie’s son). Sam had to leave after a while, so Jasper finished making the robot on his own.

2-12-15 Robot in progress

It worked! I was so amazed watching him put everything together like an expert. I think he could have kept going for hours, but the time was soon up and we mothers were more than ready to go home. I’m so glad this desire of Jasper’s has finally been fulfilled.

2-12-15 robot finished

After we got home, I still had to package and freeze a LOT of cornbread. It’s good cornbread, and I don’t want it to go to waste! I think I can count on my family to eat the rest of the dessert before it goes bad . . .

Parting Shot:

2-12-15 new couch

Thanks to my friend Darlene, we got a “new” love seat today. We put it in the boys’ room to replace the van bench which has been in there for years. Now they’ve got actual furniture to sit on.

Leave a Reply

