Surviving the Day

I am on my way to bed, but I suddenly realized that some of you might actually like to know how my root canal went.

First of all, I’d like to say that I think it’s inhumane to expect anyone to get up early and go to the dentist three mornings in a row. Secondly, nice as both dentists have been, neither one of them seemed the least bit sympathetic toward my suffering. Not that I expected anyone to make a big deal about it, but I guess I thought it would be nice if, after I described what I’ve been through in the last three weeks, someone had said, “Oh, you poor baby, that must have been ghastly!”

The endodontist was very nice and talkative. He explained that the affected tooth had some issues that made doing a root canal tricky at best. He wasn’t sure it was actually possible, but he was willing to try. After numbing me and leaving me alone for a LONG time, he came back and I told him that I wasn’t as numb as I thought I should be. I timidly mentioned that I had had a couple of root canals in the past that had been extremely painful. “Well, you’re not having one today,” he said.

He gave me a couple more shots and that did the trick. The root canal took almost a full hour (there were three roots), and although it was very uncomfortable, it was not actually painful. I have a feeling my jaw is going to be sore from being open so long!

I was a little wobbly when I got up, but I had no trouble driving home and after a little nap I was ready to tackle teaching. I did not have a demanding class today and was just glad to see my students. In fact I’d say that for a few minutes this afternoon I almost felt perky!

Shortly after class Spencer and I had a graduation meeting to go to, and then I came home. By then the last of the anesthesia had worn off and I was feeling some twinges. So, think I’ll take some ibuprofen and get some sleep!

Leave a Reply

