Succumbing, But Not Without a Fight

So, I’m getting sick. Several of my family members have been very very sick with a respiratory infection, and I knew it was only a matter of time before I fell victim also. Still, I’m not going down without a fight. I’ve been taking zinc since I first felt that I was “coming down with something” yesterday. I smell like cinnamon because I’ve been using a lot of Thieves essential oil. I’m taking vitamin C. I’m napping when I can. I also did a breathing treatment tonight and will do at least one tomorrow also. I’m hoping I can at least lessen the severity and duration of the plague.

This morning something rather startling happened. Well, actually two things. Spencer, having cleared off his desk yesterday, actually sat down and did some math! It’s a good sign. I hope he keeps it up! The other surprising event was that I cleaned the oven. Because I do it so rarely, the hood fan was not sufficient to keep the kitchen (or the whole house) free of smoke. So doors were opened and the house was very cold for a while. Lucy also tried to boil tea water with an alcohol stove and apparently nearly burned her eyebrows off. I should have told her where the electric tea kettle was!

I left our smoky house and met my friend Shirley for lunch. This week is my one chance to have a social life before I start teaching again, so I arranged to do something every day for the rest of this week. We had a nice visit and I think it did me good to get out even though I didn’t feel all that well. Afterwards I filled up the gas tank in my car for $1.80 a gallon!

I had hoped to get the Christmas decorations down today, but what with almost everyone feeling under the weather, it just did not happen. Maybe tomorrow?

Parting Shot:

I realized that I had not featured any Christmas gifts. My favorite one this year I think was one that I gave. I have had a yarn bowl for a couple of years and I love it. It’s so nice for putting a ball of yarn in while I’m knitting and knowing that it won’t roll away. Here is my yarn bowl:

yarn bowl front

So, I thought it would be nice to give one to Lina, since she shares my love of knitting. Having had that thought, I had a much better one. You see, my sister-in-law Brenda is a brilliant ceramic artist. Everything she makes is exquisite. So I thought, what if I could get Brenda to make a yarn bowl for me to give to Lina? I sent Brenda some photos of my bowl, along with dimensions, and she agreed to do it, even though by then it was really pushing it time-wise. Somehow, she pulled it off and on Christmas Eve the package arrived from Indiana. I couldn’t wait to see what was inside. I knew it would be spectacular, and it was:

Lina's yarn bowl

I was literally gobsmacked. I had to run and get Mary to see it because I just HAD to show someone! And of course, Lina loves it. She used it every day until Sunday when she had to carefully pack it up to take to Zambia with her. It’s not like a yarn bowl is a necessity, but if you knit a lot it is a very nice thing to have. And if you’re going to have one, why not have a really beautiful one?

And speaking of Lina, she made it safely to Zambia today!

Leave a Reply

