A Lack of Appointment & A Dress Edit

The first thing I did this morning was to try once more to get a dentist appointment. I found a dentist that was open, but he couldn’t get me in. Every other dentist I checked is closed until Monday. So, I gave up. I have been lancing my abscess every night and I will keep doing so and taking antibiotics until Monday, when I will try again. I have enough antibiotics to last me till Tuesday, so hopefully I can get an appointment by then.

The lesson we can all learn from this is that if you’re going to get a massive infection in your mouth parts, and you don’t have insurance, and your dentist has recently died, you really shouldn’t do it during the holidays.

My parents woke up sick this morning, so since they were resting, Lina and I went out to run an errand. We bought a game to play tomorrow night and I needed a couple of sewing notions. A mango smoothie might have been involved also. I have developed painful sores in my mouth (on the same side as the abscess) and hot liquids are very hard to drink at the moment, so I had a good excuse for needing a cold drink.

One project I’ve been working on today is altering Mary’s wedding dress to fit her better since she has lost so much weight since the wedding. Since her wedding dress was designed after Galadriel’s dress in the first Hobbit movie, Mary can wear it to events where she wants to cosplay as Galadriel. It is a fiddly project and I’m not convinced the results will be attractive, but I’m giving it my best shot.

My parents did make it here for lunch and then my dad had to go out and buy medicine. My primary project of the afternoon was making a massive batch of chicken enchiladas for our supper. Yum! Everyone was actually here for supper (the kids had scattered for the afternoon).

After supper we watched a video with my dad and then I went back to work on the wedding dress while everyone else played a game. I’m pretty happy with how the dress is going at this point.

Leave a Reply

