Long Day

Today was a day that I kind of dreaded before it even got started. It was a day in which I knew I would need a nap but would not get one. I was up early and off to do some shopping with Lina. She has volunteered to put the lights on the tree, and I wanted to get a couple extra strings “just in case.” I also needed to buy a few groceries so that I could make something to take to the potluck tonight.

After we got home, I still had grading and preparation for class to do, not to mention finding a cake recipe for Lina to make and getting the meatballs started in the slow cooker. I didn’t have time for lunch, but I was sort of ready for my students when they arrived at 2:00.

We are reading the The Moonstone by Wilkie Collins at the moment, and I am enjoying rereading it. We also reviewed some vocabulary because we are having a quiz next week.

As soon as class was over, Jasper and I had to pack up to leave for the beekeeping meeting. We took some apple-walnut-honey cake and some sweet-and-sour meatballs. Spencer commented that this was the first time in his life he had ever known me to make meatballs, and he was right. I’m not sure what took me so long. It’s not as if I don’t like meatballs.

It is an hour’s drive to the meeting, and we had to stop for gas on the way, so we barely got there in time. It was kind of a combination meeting and Christmas party. I even got some knitting done.

A young girl who recently read my book was there and she came up to tell me how much she had enjoyed it. That is always good to hear! Plus I got to at least say hello to a couple of other friends. The hard part was driving back home in the moonlight when all I wanted to do was lie down and hold my stomach. I made the grave error of having some chips and cheese dip at the meeting. Cheese is not my friend anymore, it seems.

I got home and lay down while Lina got the tinsel on the tree. Tomorrow, the lights!

Parting shot:

12-2-14 Claudia

Claudia has celebrated Lina’s return by becoming much chubbier than she once was. She is now a “traditionally built” mouse.

Leave a Reply

