In Which Three Wise Ladies Bring Warm Clothing, & A Plane Lands

On Saturday, I saw a comment on Facebook that caused quite a reaction. My daughter Lina commented to someone that she was arriving in Texas on Monday morning. We had thought all along that she was arriving Monday evening. So there was some frantic texting and flight schedule checking, and what we found out was that Lina was arriving in Dallas at 9:05 this morning, NOT 9:05 this evening.

Good thing we figured it out, right? But it meant that I had to cancel today’s classes and also that we had to get up at the ungodly hour of 4:30 this morning so that we would be ready to leave at 5:00 and thus avoid at least most of the Dallas rush hour.

Oh, it was hard to get up when that alarm went off! It was dark, warm and muggy. I knew it was supposed to cool off later, so I reminded Jasper to bring a jacket. I brought a sweater and a blanket to have in the car “just in case.” We set off on our way, and between here and Terrell (about a 90 minute drive), the temperature dropped 30 degrees. When we stopped to get some beverages and got out of the car, it was COLD. I put my sweater on. Lucy was wearing a hoodie. Jasper had remembered to bring his hat, but not a jacket. And Walter just had a short-sleeved shirt! He had not thought he’d need any outerwear because it was so warm when we left.

We drove through occasional rain showers, got into rush hour traffic at the end, but still made it to the airport an hour before Lina’s plane was due to land. Fortunately I had brought some knitting to keep myself occupied.

Finally we got the text that she had landed, but it still took more than an hour before she got her luggage and made it through customs. We had our eyes trained on the “international arrivals” doors for a long time! Lina was one of only two blond people who came through those doors (she was flying Emirates). It was so good to see her again! Fortunately she had a hoodie that was easily accessible so she could put it on before we braved the cold to get to the parking garage.

From the airport we drove to the German grocery store that my husband likes so much, and stocked up on German goodies–stöllen, lebkuchen, marzipan, chocolate, etc. Yum! Then it was time to head over to the Galleria mall so we could meet Flynn for lunch.

When we got to the mall, I checked to see what restaurants they had, and was happy to see that there was a Genghis Grill. You see, I had somehow managed to leave my driver’s license and debit card at home, and hated to use a credit card. I still had some credit left on the Genghis Grill gift card my family gave me for my birthday back in June, so that gave me another option. You can imagine my delight when it turned out that my gift card was enough to cover the meals for all five of us!

Flynn arrived shortly after we sat down at our table, and we had a wonderful visit over lunch. Alas, it was all too brief as Flynn had to go back to work and the rest of us had to drive all the way home in the cold, cold air. (Stop laughing, you Canadians. It’s cold for Texas!) We halted briefly on the way to stop at Starbucks so Lina could get a pumpkin spice latté.

We were all pretty tired by the time we got home. That was two very short nights in a row for me, and of course Lina had been in transit for a couple of days. I took a nap while she unpacked. We haven’t done much since except eat supper and watch a video. I’m hoping for a good night’s sleep tonight!

Oh, and Lucy went for a walk on campus this evening, heard some gunshots, and went toward them (why?). She didn’t see anyone, but she found about 40 bullet casings on the ground. That is not cool.

One thought on “In Which Three Wise Ladies Bring Warm Clothing, & A Plane Lands

Leave a Reply

