Holy Bible, Book Divine

We had a Gideon speaker in church today, and since I knew he was coming, I picked two Bible-themed hymns for us to sing this morning. One was “Break Thou the Bread of Life” and the other was “Holy Bible, Book Divine.” I let our song leader know on Monday what hymns we’d be singing.

So today in church, when it was time to sing “Holy Bible, Book Divine,” the leader asked me to play it through once since he didn’t know it. Then we sang through it but I have to admit I could barely hear anyone singing. After the service I found out that no one in my own family knew it either. I have a sneaking suspicious that it was new to everyone in the room except me! Oops. I had no idea it was an obscure hymn.

Holy Bible, Book Divine

John Burton

Holy Bible, book divine,
Precious treasure, thou art mine;
Mine to tell me whence I came;
Mine to teach me what I am.

Mine to chide me when I rove;
Mine to show a Savior’s love;
Mine thou art to guide and guard;
Mine to punish or reward.

Mine to comfort in distress;
Suffering in this wilderness;
Mine to show, by living faith
Man can triumph over death.

Mine to tell of joys to come,
And the rebel sinner’s doom;
O thou holy Book divine,
Precious treasure, thou art mine.

One thought on “Holy Bible, Book Divine

Leave a Reply

