Sad News

As I was preparing to write this post, I saw a news headline that the president of Zambia, Michael Sata, has died. What a tragic postscript to the celebration of the country’s 50th birthday. Please pray for a peaceful transition to a new leader for the country.

Today was my belated grocery shopping day. Poor Jasper thought he had to wait till I got home to have breakfast, so we ended up having “brunch” and then not being hungry for lunch!

I was having another bad sinus day so this afternoon I went up to the medical supply place and got masks to go with my nebulizer. I hate the thing you have to clamp between your teeth! I did a treatment before going to my meeting and another after getting home, and I do feel somewhat better now.

I was half an hour late to my critique group meeting because I had the time wrong in my head. I’ve been very wrong-headed lately, to be honest.

Anyway, it was a good critique group meeting and I got some good feedback. Afterwards we had our regular monthly writers’ meeting and it was excellent. Our speaker was Nancy Masters, a writer from west Texas. She was very entertaining and had a fun writing exercise for us to do at the end. I bought two of her books and may order a third online.

I don’t know what I’d do without my writers’ group. I really need that monthly dose of encouragement. It used to be that other homeschooling moms were “my people.” But to be honest, I don’t really feel that welcome or accepted in a homeschool group anymore. Ten years ago I used to look forward to our monthly homeschool group meetings. Now I don’t even attend. Instead I look forward to my writers’ group meetings.

The big question now is: to NaNoWriMo or not to NaNoWriMo?

One thought on “Sad News

  1. Well, at least the country isn’t in limbo anymore–they’ve been pretty cagey about what’s been going on with him for the last few months. Regarding NaNoWriMo, who WOULDN’T want to do it? Everyone needs more crazy, right?

    Like

Leave a Reply

