Back to Normal–and Sick

Yesterday I had two classes to teach despite the fact that I was more or less brain dead and was coming down with a cold. Somehow, I got through it. I even went out to run errands with Lucy and got the yarn I needed to finish the green muff I’ve been making. It’ll be going up on my Etsy site soon.

Today I felt a lot worse, but I still got up sort of on time and did some school with Jasper. Lucy and I went out for still more errands. I have to take her everywhere I go now so that she can reconnect and disconnect the battery for me, or stay in the car with the engine running while I go in to shop. This afternoon we actually turned the engine off to get gas and were very relieved when it started again. I am so thankful for the 40 gallon gas tank that got us to Texarkana and back despite the hours it spend idling while we loaded and unloaded the Suburban.

While I was away over the weekend, a package arrived. I had ordered a used autoharp from the Goodwill website, in hopes that maybe I could interest Lucy and Jasper in learning to play. I was expecting it to be in really bad shape when we finally opened the package today. It does look pretty beat-up, but it seems sound and it actually sounds quite lovely. I am going to have to rearrange the chord bars to match mine, and that won’t be fun at all, but at least I know how to do it now.

I’m trying to decide if I’m going to get up to watch the eclipse . . .

Leave a Reply

