All By Myself

Today I woke up feeling well below par so I stayed in bed for a little while and by the time I did get up I felt a lot better. Then I realized that I had the house to myself. Walter and Mercy and Spencer were already at work, and Lucy and Jasper were both still at friends’ houses. It is very rare for me to have a block of several hours by myself.

So what did I do with my golden hours? Well, I had a lovely mug of tea with my breakfast and then I watched some autoharp stuff on YouTube before getting down to practicing my hymns for Sunday. I feel like I’m making some headway and at this point I actually enjoy practicing.

I checked my email and to my delight there was a response to one that I had sent out the other day. I looked up an autoharp instructor database and found that there was one about an hour’s drive from here. So I emailed her and she responded! I called her on the phone this afternoon and guess what? I’m having a lesson next week! Now, I realize that most people take lessons before they start performing, and obviously, that would be ideal, but hey, better late than never, right? Just from talking to her on the phone I can tell that she is a fountain of knowledge and I can’t wait to learn from her! I won’t be able to go every week, but I am sure I will learn a lot.

Lucy called me during lunch to ask me to pick her up, so I went out to the Suburban to go get her and–have you guessed yet?–nothing happened when I turned the key. Nothing whatsoever. So, I had to go back and unlock the house and get the van keys so I could drive the van. I got into the van and turned the key and it started! However, both tanks were on empty. So, I had to go put gas in the van before I could even go to get Lucy. She had been waiting a long time by the time I got there.

I hope that the problem is not too serious. Walter looked at it when he got home and was not able to figure out what was wrong. I was really hoping for it to be something easy like a loose wire!

Meanwhile, I decided to get a little bit of sewing done even though my beloved serger is still in the shop. I made myself a new little bag for my finger picks and a long skinny bag for my music stand since I’ll be hauling it to and from church every Sunday. I’m pretty happy with the end products:

???????????????????????????????

Lucy’s friend Camila came back into town and came over to visit with Lucy for a while this evening. She leaves for college tomorrow. Kat also came over for a while. And my husband and I enjoyed watching a couple of videos. That rarely happens.

Leave a Reply

