Lost in the Woods

Did I feel like getting up and going to Walmart early this morning? No. But of course, I went anyway. Jasper, for once, didn’t feel like going either. Some nights he doesn’t get much sleep because Spencer is a very loud snorer.

Instead of hanging around at the house doing housework, I took off to run some errands. Even after almost a year of having a second vehicle, I still think all the time that I can’t go anywhere on Saturdays. It actually takes mental effort to remind myself that I really can go. Most of my errands were related in some way to the bridal tea I’ll be catering on Thursday. It’s going to be a busy few days.

This afternoon I had a big project in the kitchen, which I can’t really talk about at this point. It was tiring but successful.

I kept waiting all day for Lucy to return home, but then she texted me and said there were no plans to return her today or even tomorrow. I was ready for her to come home, so I offered to go get her, despite the horror stories I’d heard about trying to find her friend’s house in a rural area over 20 miles away.

Just as I was pulling out of the driveway, the young man who has been working on my serger pulled up. I was very happy to see my serger again as I have a huge list of sewing I want and need to do. I’ll be putting it through its paces tomorrow I hope!

So anyway, off I went with my Google directions and Delilah (my GPS) for backup. For once, I can’t blame Google for what happened. The directions were correct. The problem was that two of the roads which I was supposed to turn onto were not labeled in any way. So I went sailing past my first turnoff and drove through increasingly rural and overgrown terrain until I found myself on a dirt road. I was pretty sure I’d gone too far.

I backtracked, stopping to read each road sign. I fired up Delilah and entered the address, only to have her be absolutely stumped. As far as she knew, the road I wanted did not exist. There was no road with the number I was looking for, so I made an educated guess and it turned out to be the right one. There was a sign saying the next road I needed to turn on was somewhere up ahead, but the road itself was not labeled at all, so once again I turned and hoped for the best.

Then came the fun of finding the house. Yep. You guessed it. The house is not identified by a house number or any other device by which one might correctly pick it out from all the other houses on that rural road. Once again I overshot it and had to backtrack. There was an unmarked driveway in the general area where the house should be, so I called Lucy and asked her for some landmarks. I hated to trespass on someone’s property, especially if the someone had a gun.

I turned into the driveway and saw a boat. “Is there a boat in the driveway?” I asked Lucy. “Not that I know of,” she said. Great. Up ahead I saw a camper. “Is there a camper?” “Yes.” About that time she saw the car coming and I heaved a big sigh of relief! I have known her friend’s mom for fifteen years, but this was my first time to experience the fun of finding her house.

We had a late supper after arriving safely home, and then it was time for Mercy and I to embark on our samosa-making project. She is going to a lunch tomorrow and she promised to make samosas to take. The problem is that one of the others going is gluten-free, so at least some of the samosas had to be gluten free. So, I researched recipes and then talked Mercy through making the filling. I think we actually got it spicy enough!

Then I made the GF dough (and I also made it dairy free) and she made the “normal” dough. I fried the GF samosas first so that the oil wouldn’t be contaminated by gluten. Naturally, I made enough so that I can enjoy some GF samosas too!

Meanwhile, I need to get some sleep so I can get up early in the morning and see Spencer off on his big adventure.

Leave a Reply

