The Colorado Middle Eastern West African Birthday

So, today was my birthday. I did not plan to say anything about it, and figured that we would just wait and celebrate after we get back home. That plan failed in a major way.

The first part of my plan was to sleep in till 8:30 because I have not been sleeping well the last few nights. However, my sweet daughter Mary texted me at 7:30 this morning so that plan died on the spot! Later in the morning, when I was actually sentient, we had a nice chat on the phone.

My lovely hostess Evangeline made sausages for breakfast, and then offered to take Walter and me out for a birthday lunch. Her mother Donita came as well and we went to a Middle Eastern restaurant called “Heart of Jerusalem.” I had one of the best meals I have ever had in my entire life: falafel and hummus and beef and chicken and various other morsels of heaven all arranged in a beautiful design. The falafel were heart-shaped! I love Middle Eastern food so much!

After lunch Walter and I had to rush to pick up Mercy, who wanted to take us to a movie. We went to see Edge of Tomorrow, which might also be titled Edge of Your Seats. So much action! As we walked out of the theater, Mercy diverted us to a bubble tea establishment, and we all had a delicious cup of bubble tea before heading to Walmart to go grocery shopping.

We got all the ingredients for the birthday dinner which Mercy was planning to make–West African ground nut stew. Then it was over to Mangy’s house where I took a nap, drank some tea, and spent a couple of glorious hours reading while Mercy slaved in the kitchen. I also had a birthday phone call from my brother Matt.

By the time our delicious dinner was ready, it was late, but since we had such a big lunch, that was no problem. Mercy and her friends made it such a fun meal, and we topped it off with the chocolate gluten-free cake which Mercy had made and her friend Rachel had decorated with a beautiful design. What a great birthday!

And then we came back to Evangeline’s and I had over 100 Facebook birthday greetings waiting for me. I am so blessed. Thank you to everyone who made it such a wonderful day!

2 thoughts on “The Colorado Middle Eastern West African Birthday

  1. Sounds like one of the better birthdays you’ve had in years– I am so glad. And I apologize for waking you up! I remembered the time difference, but didn’t think you’d still be sleeping.

    I’ve heard really good things about Heart of Jerusalem from all my Colorado people, though I’ve never tried it since I suspect it wouldn’t be safe. I’m so glad you got to enjoy it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

