The Play’s the Thing

After making a makeshift brown sugar/vanilla cake last night, I got up this morning and made icing for it, along with a batch of gluten-free cornbread. I wanted to make sure Lucy and I would have something to eat!

Spencer drove separately so that he could continue on to work afterwards, and when Jasper and I got to the church, Lucy was already waiting. We had a nice lunch–barbeque, though almost no one wanted the cornbread and Jasper was the only person courageous enough to try the cake! When we got home I wrapped up individual pieces of cornbread and put them in the freezer so that Lucy and I will have them for future meals.

While I was at the lunch, I got a text from the mother of one of my students, wanting to know if I would like to attend the dress rehearsal of “The Little Mermaid,” which our local youth theater is putting on starting tomorrow. Her son plays the role of “Scuttle” the seagull. Well, of course I said yes. I love going to plays!

So I ate an early supper and then drove up to the theater. I enjoyed myself so much! Those kids did such a great job and put on a really professional show. A few of them were also really outstanding vocalists! And I found out that my student was not the only kid I knew in the show. There were several other past students of mine. I have to admit, though, that the seagull was outstanding! Getting to go see that was such a treat. It brought back so many happy memories of the plays that I was involved in during my high school years.

Leave a Reply

